Wednesday, June 22, 2022

Turkey is now Türkiye

In Turkish, the Republic of Turkey is Türkiye Cumhuriyeti and it took the name when it declared itself a republic on 29 October 1923.  The country's short name in English has been "Turkey" for almost 100 years.  In German it's been "Turkei" and in French it's been "Turquie". 

Well Turkish President Recep Tayyip Erdoğan wants to change the country's image and disassociate it from the bird.

The country's short name is now Türkiye.  

It can take a while for a country's name change to take root.  In 1935, Persia changed its name to Iran with "Iran" being the Farsi word for Persia.

In 2019, Macedonia changed its name to North Macedonia to resolve its name dispute with Greece which was holding up the country's accession to NATO.

In 2016, Czech Republic changed its official short name to Czechia.  That's still taking a while to catch on.

Here's a five-minute video I found on YouTube that talks about Türkiye's name change.

©DW News

No comments:

Post a Comment