Tuesday, October 23, 2018


Bohemia, along with Moravia and Silesia, make up the Czechlands.  It is the largest, and most western part, of the country.  It is home to 6,5 million people.

Bohemia was part of the Holy Roman Empire and the Austro-Hungarian Empire.  Prague has long been the historic capital of the region.

At the end of WWI, it became part of Czechoslovakia.  The German-speaking areas of the Sudetenland were annexed by Germany in 1938.  The remaining parts of Bohemia were occupied as the Protectorate of Bohemia and Moravia until Czechoslovakia reunited following the war.

The Czech word of 'Bohemia' is Čechy, which is why Moravians can be quick to point out that whilst they are Czech and not Čechy (Bohemians).

No comments:

Post a Comment