Thursday, June 20, 2013


Moravia was a country in Central Europe way back when.  Along with Bohemia and Silesia it is one of the traditional Czech lands.

Moravia takes up most of the eastern part of Czech Republic.  Its name comes from the Morava River.  It consists of the South Moravian region, the Zlín region, and parts of the Moravian-Silesian, Olomouc, Pardubice, Vysočina and South Bohemian regions.

Until 1641, Moravia had two capitals - Brno and Olomouc.  Once the Swedes captured Olomouc during the Thirty Years' War, Brno became the sole capital.  Brno is still the capital and the largest city.

Moravian Coat of Arms
It was once a part of the Austro-Hungarian Empire from 1867 to 1918.  After WWI it became part of Czechoslovakia.  During WWII it was under German control as part of the Protectorate of Bohemia and Moravia.

When Czechoslovakia broke up in 1993, Moravia became part of the Czech Republic.

Moravia is the wine producing area of the country so it's natural that Moravians drink more wine than Bohemians (Czechs).  Don't get it twisted though, Moravians still drink their fair share of beer too.

Flag of Moravia
Moravians are also known to have more (and better) folk festivals.  I've heard the Moravians speak more proper Czech than Bohemians.  But they also have more Czech dialects here.

In the 2011 Census, Moravians made up the second largest ethnic group with over 520,000 people.  I've noticed that men here tend to be more passionate about saying they are Moravian; not Czech.

Update 2022:  Here's a video I found on YouTube of the unofficial regional Moravian anthem Jsem Moravan.


Update 2023:  1200 years of Moravia.

No comments:

Post a Comment