Wednesday, May 4, 2016

Special Administrative Regions

Hong Kong and Macau are special administrative regions of the People's Republic of China中華人民共和國的特別行政區.   This is China's "one country, two systems" policy that provides former colonies a certain amount of independence.  

Macau and Hong Kong

Special administrative regions (SAR) are independent from Beijing in that they have their own governments, legal systems, police forces, immigration policies, postal systems, official languages, national sports teams, and money that is separate from the People's Republic of China.  However, they are dependent on China for diplomatic relations and national defence.  A People's Liberation Army force is deployed in each but they are not allowed to interfere with local affairs.

This high level of autonomy is guaranteed for 50 years.  However China has not said what happens when the time is up for Hong Kong in 2047 or for Macau in 2049.  Here's an interesting video I found out on YouTube that talks about these two SARs.

                                          ©CGP Grey

No comments:

Post a Comment