Tuesday, July 14, 2020

The European Parliament

The European Parliament is one of the EU's three legislative branches.   Together with the Council of the European Union, it adopts the laws proposed by the European Commission.  So the European Parliament can vote on legislation but it can not propose new legislation.

The European Parliament, after India, is the world's second-largest democratically elected body. 

There are 705 MEPs (Members of the European Parliament) as determined by each country's population.  The minimum number of MEPs is six per country.  Germany has the Most MEPs with 96, followed by France with 79, Italy with 76, Spain with 59, and Poland with 52.  

Czech Republic, Greece, Hungary, Portugal, and Sweden, all have 21 MEPs each.

MEPs serve five-year terms and there are no term limits.

Here's a short 5,5 minute video I found out on YouTube that provides more information about the European Parliament.


No comments:

Post a Comment