Tuesday, February 28, 2017

Kingdom of Morocco

The Kingdom of Moroccoالمملكة المغربية, is located in North Africa.  It borders Algeria and Western Sahara, as well as Spain due to the Spanish exclaves of Ceuta and Melilla.  Along with Spain and France, it is the only country to have both Atlantic and Mediterranean coastlines.  

Morocco is a little larger than California and is home to almost 34 million people.  The capital is Rabat and Casablanca is the largest city.  Other well-known cities include Marrakesh, Fez, and Tangier.  

Morocco has been ruled by independent dynasties since 788 AD.  It was the only country in North Africa to not fall under the Ottoman Empire.  In 1777, it was the first country in the world to recognise the USA as an independent country.  
The current royal family dates back to the 17th century.  In 1912, Morocco was divided into French and Spanish protectorates.  Independence only came in 1956 and today it is a constitutional monarchy with an elected parliament.

Morocco claims Western Sahara as its southern provinces and annexed the territory in 1975 after Spain gave up the territory.  It currently controls about 80% of the territory but this ins't recognised by the United Nations.
Berber alphabet

The official languages are Arabic and Berber.  Over 30% of the population speaks French and it is used in official documents for both government and business.  

The Moroccan dirham (MAD) is the official currency.  The country is home to Africa's fifth largest economy.

Islam is the predominant religion.  Morocco is no place to be openly gay as homosexual acts are illegal and punishable by 6 months to 3 years in prison.

Here's a video I found on YouTube about how powerful the country is.


No comments:

Post a Comment