Thursday, July 3, 2014

Brno's Twin Cities

The concept of twin towns is designed to foster friendship between different cultures and to develop international business links.

In British English it is known as "twin towns" while in the USA we refer to them as sister cities.  In Czech it is known as partnerské město (partner city).

Brno is currently twinned with twelve cities.  These include Dallas (Texas), USA; Kaunas, Lithuania; Kharkiv, Ukraine; Leeds, UK; Leipzig and Stuttgart in Germany; Poznań, Poland; St. Pölten and Vienna in Austria; Utrecht, Netherlands; and Voronezh, Russia.

Atlanta has 21 sister cities but none in Czechland.  Perhaps someone should look in to this.

No comments:

Post a Comment